NaNoWriMo: The Race is On!

I’m writing my first novel this month for National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo, and I’m out of the gate at 1900 3023 words. The goal is 50,000 words by the end of the month, and frankly, I think it will turn out longer than that. It is as of yet untitled, and I’ve had the idea in my head for quite a while now.

It’s at its heart a lesbian romance, but it is so much more than that. Central to the plot is time travel and a bit of ancient magic, set in Revolutionary France and post-Revolutionary Philadelphia as well as modern Philadelphia. Intrigue, betrayal, suspense, love, and loss. Artists, smugglers, thieves, bastard royalty, and even a pair of goddesses in a secret tryst. The heights of golden Versailles and the politics of the few female art students allowed into Académie Royale de Peinture et de Sculpture. The crushing solitude of newly-built 18th-century Eastern State Penitentiary, and the austerity of its walls as a present-day living museum. The bustle of gritty, modern Philadelphia, the wind in the flowing hair of a cyclist deftly navigating its crowded streets. Dreams of ancient temples and lover’s tokens, the constant creaking of an oaken ship carrying aristocratic emigres fleeing France for the New World.

I might post some excerpts over at Smashwords in a week or two, which is featuring a showcase of works-in-progress throughout the month. I’ve added a word count widget so you can see at a glance where I am. If you’re of a statistical and/or nosy bent, you can click on it and check out detailed stats and more information about the novel.

Cheer me on, won’t you? I’m sure I’ll appreciate the positive words at some point or another this month! 😉

Leave a Reply

